The Sisters Brothers

 

 This book was one of the few I have read that really seemed to have a classic ‘story-telling’ feel about it. This may be because of its format, which to me is screaming for a film adaptation… or because of its narrative and historical topic, a classic Western tale with the expected outlaws, assassins, prospectors, whores and saloons.

 *researches*  The rights to this book have been bought. Potential film times!

 It is a winding tale of two brothers in the mid 1800’s as they go about yet another job as infamous assassins on the west coast of America during the ‘gold rush’.Told from the perspective of Eli Sisters, he talks us through not only the brothers going about what is their day to day lives but we find Eli at the end of his tether in this particular industry. While he suffers with a sometimes uncontrollable temper, Eli is a preferable character to his brother and is depicted as gentle at times and less suited to the role than his hardened brother, Charlie. One thing I did like about this is the explanation of why these two men are so different, considering they are brothers without a dramatic age gap. I won’t go into it but that bit of history does really develop the characters and takes Charlie from an initially 2D nasty character to one with purpose and, in places, even demanding sympathy.

 I found the first half of the book a little slow but the second half really did pick up pace and the section of the story involving Warm & Morris, the keen prospectors, caught my attention substantially more.The inclusion of Morris’ diary entries plus Warm’s explanation of how he came about his invention that ended up leading the brothers to him really did add depth and intrigued to a story that could have become stale from being purely from one perspective.This book is classified as being a ‘dark comedy’ and yes, it is entertaining, but I would not go as far as to dub it a comedy. Glad as I am to have read it I am not entirely sure it is worth such critical acclaim that it has previously received. I will not be falling over myself to lend this to others yet in the same breath would be incredibly intrigued to see what they would do with it in film format.

 *I have probably rambled about this before* My thoughts of book adaptation tends to be this; If I love a book and take it completely to heart I will go out of my way to avoid seeing the film for fear of ruining the memory of it in my head. No one wants to go to the cinema with someone who spends the entire film moaning about ‘the character not being right’ and exclaiming ‘they missed a complete scene!’ (Flash back to any of the Harry Potter films). If the book is average I am intrigued to see if someone took something I didn’t from it and therefore I will first in line to see it.

 Roll on the Sisters Brothers on the big screen.

 

p.s This was the last book I read as a 24 year old. I am officially in a different age bracket. I have not made me piece with this yet.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

